Venues for Formal Poetry

Send updates here.

Read the submission guidelines before submitting anywhere.

Legend:

FO = Formal-only, i.e., accepts only formal or metrical poetry.
FF = Formal-friendly. Let's not list everyone here, okay? Just those that seem especially receptive to formal or metrical poetry.
P = Print zine
W = Webzine
B = Both print and online

Two or three of these should probably also have an A for Awful, but hey, I just maintain the list, I don't endorse everything in it.

I'll leave the discontinued and possibly-discontinued entries up, at least for now, so that I don't forget they've been discontinued and mistakenly re-add them later.

Title Website Type Comments
14 by 14 http://www.14by14.com/ FOW Sonnets only. Closed to submissions until further notice.
21 Stars Review http://www.sundress.net/21stars/ FFW DISCONTINUED
32 Poems http://www.32poems.com/ FFP Poems of 32 lines or fewer.
66 http://www.bostonpoetry.com/66/ FOP Their home page says they are currently reading for the 2010 issue.
Able Muse http://www.ablemuse.com/ FOW
Adanna Literary Journal http://adannajournal.blogspot.com/ FFP
Alabama Literary Review http://spectrum.troy.edu/alr/index.htm FFB
American Arts Quarterly http://nccsc.net/american_arts_quartlerly FFP
Angle http://anglepoetry.co.uk/ FFW
Anima http://www.animapoetry.uk/ FFP
Anon http://www.anonpoetry.co.uk/ FFP Anonymous selection.
Anti- http://anti-poetry.com/ FFW DISCONTINUED
Antiphon http://www.antiphon.org.uk/ FFW
Asses of Parnassus, The http://assesofparnassus.tumblr.com/ FOW Short, witty, formal poems
Atavic Poetry http://atavicpoetry.com/ FFW
Autumn Sky Poetry http://www.autumnskypoetry.com/ FFW ON HIATUS - closed for submissions until further notice.
Barefoot Muse, The http://www.barefootmuse.com/ FOW ON HIATUS - closed for submissions until further notice.
Blast Furnace http://www.blastfurnacepress.com/ FFW
Blue Unicorn http://www.blueunicorn.org/ FFP Website is broken (Apr 8 2012) but I think they’re still in business. Snail-mail: 22 Avon Road, Kensington, CA 94707
Bringing Sonnets Back http://www.freewebs.com/bringingsonnetsback/ FOW DISCONTINUED
Calamaro http://www.calamaromagazine.com/ FFP
Calenture http://www.geocities.com/calenture.journal/ FFW DISCONTINUED? Geocities has been shut down.
Candelabrum http://www.members.tripod.com/redcandlepress/Magazine.htm FFP DISCONTINUED
Canto http://www.cantopoetry.co.uk/ FFW
Cartys Poetry Journal http://www.cartyspoetryjournal.com/Submissions.htm FFW On hiatus
Cave Wall http://www.cavewallpress.com/ FFP
Chimaera, The http://www.the-chimaera.com/ FFW ON HIATUS - closed for submissions until further notice.
Columbia College Literary Review https://sites.google.com/a/cougars.ccis.edu/ccliteraryreview/ FFP
Comstock Review, The http://www.comstockreview.org/ FFP
Contemporary Rhyme http://www.contemporaryrhyme.com/ FFW DISCONTINUED
Crab Orchard Review http://craborchardreview.siu.edu/ FFP
Crannog http://www.crannogmagazine.com/ FFP
Dana Literary Society http://www.danaliterary.org/index.html FFW DISCONTINUED
Dappled Things http://dappledthings.org/ FFP Catholic literary journal
Dark Horse http://www.thedarkhorsemagazine.com/ FFP
Deronda Review http://www.pointandcircumference.com/deronda/main.htm FOP Formerly the Neovictorian/Cochlea
Don’t Just Sit There http://djstpoetry.org/ FFB
Eclectic Muse http://www.thehypertexts.com/Essays%20Articles%20Reviews%20Prose/The%20Eclectic%20Muse.htm FFP
Edge City Review http://www.edge-city.com/ FFP DISCONTINUED
Eleventh Muse http://www.poetrywest.org/muse.htm FFP DISCONTINUED?
Envoi http://www.cinnamonpress.com/envoi/ FFP
Euphony http://euphonyjournal.com/ FFP
Evansville Review http://english.evansville.edu/EvansvilleReview.htm FFP Annual
Expansive Poetry Online http://www.expansivepoetryonline.com/ FOW DISCONTINUED
First Things http://www.firstthings.com/ FFP Religious
Flea, The http://www.the-flea.com/ FFW DISCONTINUED
Folly http://www.the-buckeye.org/folly FFW DISCONTINUED
Fourteen http://www.fourteenmagazine.com/ FFP DISCONTINUED
Fringe http://www.fringemagazine.org/ FFW
Frostwriting http://www.frostwriting.com/ FFW
FutureCycle http://www.futurecycle.org/ FFW DISCONTINUED
Garbanzo http://www.garbanzo.us/ FFW ON HIATUS - closed for submissions until further notice.
Goblin Fruit http://www.goblinfruit.net/2013/fall/guidelines/ FFW Fantastical
Goreyesque http://www.goreyesque.com/submission-guidelines/ FFW Work that is clearly inspired by Edward Gorey
Harp-Strings mailto:verdure@tampabay.rr.com FFP No website. Send 3-5 poems, pasted or as a Word attachment, to Madelyn Eastlund at email address at left.
Hudson Review http://www.hudsonreview.com/ FFP Notoriously slow to respond.
HyperTexts http://www.thehypertexts.com/ FOW An evolving online anthology.
Iambs & Trochees http://www.iambsandtrochees.com/ FOP DISCONTINUED
Image http://www.imagejournal.org/ FFP "Art, Faith, Mystery"
Imitation & Allusion http://imitationandallusion.com/ FFW
Innisfree Poetry Journal http://www.authorme.com/innisfree.htm FFW
Interpreters House http://www.interpretershouse.org.uk/ FFP “Due to ill health, Simon Curtis will be handing over the editor’srole of The Interpreter’s House in due course. In the interim, pleaseforward any queries by post as the website is not being regularlymonitored. An announcement about a future direction for the magazine will be made shortly”
Iron Horse Literary Review http://www.ironhorsereview.com/ FFP
Italian Americana http://www.italianamericana.com/ FFB Italian-Americans
Ivy Review, The http://sites.google.com/site/ccivyreview/ FFP Renamed Columbia College Literary Review.
KUDU http://www.kudupoetry.org/ FFW
Kestrel http://www.fairmontstate.edu/publications/kestrel/submissions FFP
Kin http://wearekin.org/ FFW
Knockout http://www.knockoutlit.org/ FFP
Lavender Review http://lavrev.net/ FFW Poetry and art by, about, and for lesbians
Light http://www.lightquarterly.com/ FFW Light verse
Lighten Up Online http://www.lightenup-online.co.uk/ FFW Light verse
Linebreak http://linebreak.org/ FFW One poem per week.
Literary Bohemian http://www.literarybohemian.com/ FFW travel
Literary Hatchet http://lizzieandrewborden.com/HatchetOnline/LiteraryHatchet/ FFW “mystery, murder, macabre, horror, monsters, ghosts, and things that go bump in the night”
Loch Raven Review http://www.lochravenreview.net/ FFW
London Magazine http://www.thelondonmagazine.net/ FFP DISCONTINUED? Website gone.
Lucid Rhythms http://www.lucidrhythms.com/ FFW DISCONTINUED
Lyric, The http://www.thelyricmagazine.com/ FOP
Measure http://www.measurepress.com/measure/index.php/submissions/ FOP Was annual; now semiannual
Mezzo Cammin http://www.mezzocammin.com/ FOW Women writers
Mimesis http://www.mimesispoetry.com/ FFP DISCONTINUED
MÖBIUS http://www.mobiuspoetry.com/ FFP Suspended in 2012
NEBO http://www.atu.edu/english/Nebo.shtml FFP
National Poetry Review http://www.nationalpoetryreview.com/ FFP Limited reading period for non-subscribers
Nervous Breakdown, The http://www.thenervousbreakdown.com/ FFW
New Criterion http://www.newcriterion.com/ FFP Politically conservative
New Trad Journal https://newtradjournal.submittable.com/submit/18157 FOW
New Verse News http://newversenews.blogspot.com/ FFW Politically progressive
New Walk http://newwalkmagazine.wordpress.com/ FFP
North American Review http://www.webdelsol.com/NorthAmReview/NAR/Home.html FFP
O Sweet Flowery Roses http://osfrjournal.blogspot.com/ FFW Tied with The Shit Creek Review for Best Name Ever.
Off the Coast http://www.off-the-coast.com/ FFP
Orbis http://www.kudoswritingcompetitions.com/ FFP DISCONTINUED? Website gone.
Our Pipe Dreams http://www.ourpipedreams.com/ FFP
PN Review http://www.pnreview.co.uk/ FFP
Phenomenon http://www.phenmag.com/ FFW DISCONTINUED?Website down.
Pivot http://www.n2hos.com/acm/EPMBOOKSTOREMAIN.HTML FOP DISCONTINUED
Poem Tree http://www.poemtree.com/ FOW An evolving online anthology.
Poemeleon http://www.poemeleon.org/ FFW
Poetry http://www.poetrymagazine.org/ FFP
Poetry Journal http://www.poetryjournal.org/ FFW DISCONTINUED? Website gone.
Poetry Porch http://www.poetryporch.com/ FFW Includes a sub-zine, The Sonnet Scroll.
Poetry Proper http://poetryproper.blogspot.com/ FFW The site is a blog, but the journal is in PDF format.
Poetry Renewal http://www.poetryrenewal.com/ FOW DISCONTINUED
Poetry Revolt http://www.poetryrevolt.com/ FFP DISCONTINUED
Praxilla http://www.ars-rhetorica.net/Praxilla/Praxilla.html FFW DISCONTINUED? Website gone.
Pulse http://www.heartsoundspressliterary.com/Pulse_Online_Literary_Journal/Welcome.html FFW Appears to be inactive
Quarterday Review http://quarterdayreview.com/ FFW
Quarterly Journal of Food and Car Poems http://geocities.com/food_and_car_poems/ FOW DISCONTINUED
Raintown Review http://www.theraintownreview.com/ FFP
Rat's Ass Review http://www.ratsassreview.net/ FFW BACK IN BUSINESS after a hiatus.
Rattapallax http://www.rattapallax.com/ FFP No longer accepting print poems, only videos and recordings.
Rattle http://www.rattle.com/submissions.htm FFB
Raven Chronicles http://ravenchronicles.org/ FFP
Reach http://www.reachpoetry.com/ FFP Not sure why I added this one in the first place. It’s not an English language site, so I can’t confirm what it is.
Recursive Angel http://recursiveangel.org/ FFW DISCONTINUED? Website gone.
Recusant, The http://www.therecusant.moonfruit.com/ FFW
Redheaded Stepchild http://redheadedmag.com/poetry/ FFW "a home for rejected poems"
Rhythm http://rhythmpoetrymagazine.english.dal.ca/submissions.html FFW
River Styx http://www.riverstyx.org/ FFP
Riverrun http://www.uccs.edu/english/student-activities/riverrun.html FFP
Road Not Taken, The http://journalformalpoetry.com/ FOW
Rondeau Poetry Review http://rondeaupoetryreview.webs.com/ FOW Rondeaux, Rondeau redouble, Kyrielle, Ballades, Triolets, Rondels, Roundels and more will be considered
Rondeau Roundup http://therondeauroundup.blogspot.com/ FOW rondeau, rondel, roundel, rondeau redouble, rondolet, triolet, and ballade
Rotary Dial, The http://therotarydial.ca/ FOW
Ruminate http://www.ruminatemagazine.com/ FFP "Faith in Literature and Art"
SP Quill http://www.shadowpoetry.com/magazine/spquill.html FFP DISCONTINUED
Same, The http://www.thesamepress.com/ FFP
Scarlet Literary Magazine http://scarletzine.wordpress.com/ FFW “unleashing romantic sensibilities”
Sewanee Review http://www.sewanee.edu/sewanee_review FFP
Sewanee Theological Review http://www.sewanee.edu/Theology/str/strhome.html FFP Anglican
ShatterColors http://www.shattercolors.com/index.htm FOW
Shit Creek Review http://www.shitcreekreview.com/ FFW DISCONTINUED
Shot Glass http://www.musepiepress.com/shotglass/index.html FFW Short poems.
Slant http://uca.edu/english/slant-a-journal-of-poetry/ FFP Annual
Sliptongue http://www.sliptongue.com/ FFW Erotic poetry
Smartish Pace http://www.smartishpace.com/home/index.html FFP
Snakeskin http://www.simmers1.webspace.virginmedia.com/ FFW
Sonnetto Poesia https://sites.google.com/site/sonnettopoesia/home FOP DISCONTINUED
Soundzine http://www.soundzine.net/ FFW DISCONTINUED (wahhh!)
String Poet http://www.stringpoet.com/ FFW
Strong Verse http://www.strongverse.org/ FFW
Think Journal http://www.western.edu/academics/graduate-programs/master-fine-arts-creative-writing/think-journal FFP
Third Wednesday http://thirdwednesday.org/ FFP
Tilt-a-Whirl http://www.katebenedict.com/Tilt-a-Whirl/contents.html FFW DISCONTINUED
Tinfoildresses http://issuu.com/tinfoildresses FFW DISCONTINUED? The 2012 issue is online, but I can’t find any submission guidelines.
Trellis http://www.trellismagazine.com/ FOW DISCONTINUED
Triolets.org http://triolets.org/ FOW DISCONTINUED? Website gone.
Two Review http://tworeview.weebly.com/index.html FFP DISCONTINUED
Umbrella http://www.umbrellajournal.com/ FFW DISCONTINUED
Unsplendid http://www.unsplendid.com/ FOW
Valparaiso Poetry Review http://www.valpo.edu/vpr/ FFW
Verse Wisconsin http://www.versewisconsin.org/ FFB DISCONTINUED
Victorian Violet, The http://victorianvioletpress.com/home FFW DISCONTINUED
Vineyards http://vineyardspoetry.com/ FFP DISCONTINUED
Vocabula Review http://www.vocabula.com/ FFW NO LONGER ACCEPTING POEMS
White Lotus http://www.shadowpoetry.com/magazine/whitelotus.html FOP DISCONTINUED
Worm http://www.villarana.freeserve.co.uk/wormhome.htm FFW DISCONTINUED

 

Formal-Friendly Poem/Book Competitions

Legend:

B = book or chapbook competition
P = poem competition

Name Website Type Comments
Able Muse Book Award http://www.ablemusepress.com/ablemuse-book-award B
Able Muse Write Prize http://www.ablemusepress.com/ablemuse-write-prize P Poetry and flash fiction
Aldrich Press Poetry Book Award http://kelsaybooks.com/poetry_book_contest B
Anthony Hecht Poetry Prize http://waywiser-press.com/hechtprize.html B  
Donald Justice Poetry Prize http://www.wcupa.edu/_academics/sch_cas/poetry/Iris_N_Spencer_Poetry_Awards/justiceprize.asp B  
Edgar Bowers Award http://www.georgiapoetrysociety.org/contests.htm P  
Helen Schaible Shakespearean/Petrarchan Sonnet Contest http://www.poetsandpatrons.net/Schaibel.htm P
Howard Nemerov Sonnet Award http://theformalist.evansville.edu/contest.html P  
Margaret Reid Poetry Contest for Traditional Verse http://www.winningwriters.com/contests/margaret/ma_guidelines.php P  
Morton Marr Poetry Prize http://www.southwestreview.org/SubmissionGuidelines.htm P  
New England Shakespeare Festival Sonnet Award http://www.newenglandshakespeare.org/sonnet_contest.htm P  
Poetry on the Lake Competition http://www.poetryonthelake.org/ P Special category for formal verse; deadline May 15, 2009.
Richard Wilbur Award http://english.evansville.edu/WilburAwardGuidelines.htm B  
Science Fiction Poetry Association http://www.sfpoetry.com/2007poetrycontest.html P